Drawn and Quarterly Your Shopping Cart
Home About Artists Shop Events Press New Blog 211 Bernard Store Blog
Tuesday, July 03, 2007

Doug Wright Award nominees announced

Congratulations to Guy Delisle, whose book Shenzhen is up for Best Book, and to Keith Jones, who is nominated as Best Emerging Talent for Bacter-Area!

The organizers of The Doug Wright Awards for Canadian cartooning are pleased to announce their 2007 nominees for Best Book and Best Emerging Talent. This year, the 10 nominees for Canada's premiere cartooning award feature an eclectic mix of personal memoir and travelogue to short fiction and experimental graphic fiction--all from the pens of Canada's finest cartooning talents.

The nominees are:

Best Book

Shenzen: A Travelogue From China, Guy Delisle (Drawn and Quarterly)

This Will All End in Tears, Joe Ollman (Insomniac Press)

Scott Pilgrim and The Infinite Sadness, Bryan Lee O'Malley (ONI Press)

Gilded Lilies, Jillian Tamaki (Conundrum Press)

Nog-a-dod, Marc Bell ed. (Conundrum Press)

Best Emerging Talent

Gray Horses, Hope Larson (ONI Press)

House of Sugar, Rebecca Kraatz (Tulip Tree Press)

Was She Pretty?, Leanne Shapton (Farrar, Strauss & Giroux)

Bacter-area, Keith Jones (Drawn and Quarterly)

Mendacity, Tamara Faith Berger & Sophie Cossette (Kiss Machine Presents…)

These nominees for the 3rd annual Doug Wright Awards were selected by a committee that include cartoonists Chester Brown and Seth, director Jerry Ciccoritti and comic historian Jeet Heer.

The winners will de decided by a five-member jury that includes; director Bruce McDonald , professor and writer Mark Kingwell, journalist and writer Judy MacDonald, 2006 Wright Award winning cartoonist Lorenz Peter and former National Post journalist Jessica Johnson.

The winners will be announced August 17, 2007 at the opening night of the Toronto Comic Arts Festival. [note: where at some point in the programming, there will be a Q+A with Joe Matt!]

For more information visit: www.wrightawards.ca, or email Brad Mackay at brad@wrightawards.ca

The Doug Wright Awards were founded in May 2005 as a means of casting light on the wide range of cartoonists and comic artists working across Canada. The country's premiere comic awards, The Wrights are named after Doug Wright (1917 1983) a cartoonist whose strip Doug Wright's Family (or Nipper) ran for more than 30 years across Canada.


HOME BACK Your Shopping Cart

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

copyright 2010 drawn & quarterly